FIFA Futsal World Cup BRAZIL 2008 - Qualifiers Update Print
International Futsal News

The 2008 FIFA Futsal World Cup will be held in Brazil on 30 September to 19 October 2008 in the host cities of Rio de Janeiro and Brasilia. There will be 20 teams participating, with the following distribution of teams by confederation: AFC (4), CAF (2), CONCACAF (3), CONMEBOL (3+host), OFC (1) and UEFA (6).

(Click here to follow the 2008 Futsal World Cup news and results)

Here is the latest qualifiers update by region as of June 26, 2008

CAF  (Africa)
The CAF Futsal Championships, which served as a qualifier for the FIFA Futsal World Cup was held between 21-30 March in Tripoli, Libya. By reaching the final, Egypt and Libya qualified for Brazil 2008 for CAF.
(Click here for the latest CAF futsal news and results)

UEFA (Europe)
The First qualifying round was played from 23 February - 2 March 2008 with 38 teams in various countries. The latest round of play-offs was played from 29 March to 16 April 2008. (Participating teams were: Croatia, Italy, Romania, Czech Republic, Hungary, Ukraine, Portugal, Slovenia, Russia, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Spain)

Qualifying for Brazil 2008 from UEFA are: Czech Republic, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Ukraine and  Russia 
(Click here for the latest UEFA futsal news and results)

The qualifier for Asia will be held from 11-18 May in Thailand. 4 teams will be qualified.
Qualifying for Brazil 2008 from AFC are: IRAN, Thailand, Japan, China. 
(Click here for the latest AFC futsal news and results)

The Qualifier for South America will be held from 26 May-8 June in Uruguay.
Participating teams: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Qualifying for Brazil 2008 from  are: Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay.

(Click here for the latest CONMEBOL futsal news and results)

Host Country Brazil qualifies automatically.

CONCACAF(North and Central America) 
The Qualifier for North, Central America and the Caribbean Zone will be held from 2-8 June 2008 at the Dome Polideportivo in Guatemala City, Guatemala. Participating teams: Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Panama, USA and Guatemala, plus two teams coming from the Caribbean who played on 3-6 April at the Canedo Hall in the Centre of Excellence, Trinidad & Tobago. ( Haiti, Saint Martin, Puerto Rico, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana). Latest update April 8: Caribbean champions Trinidad and Tobago and finalists Haiti have earned the right to compete in the CONCACAF qualifiers for Brazil 2008.

Qualifying for Brazil 2008 from CONCACAF are: Guatemala, Cuba, USA. 

(Click here for the latest CONCACAF futsal news and results)

One team to qualifies from this region. The OFC Futsal Championship will be held in Fiji in June 2008.

Qualifying for Brazil 2008 from OFC are: Soloman Islands
(Click here for the latest OCEANIA futsal news and results)